Can you eat gluten free at Dunkin’ Donuts? Yes, here are 9 menu items we love

Believe it or not, it’s very doable to order vegan, keto, and even sugar-free at Dunkin’. But removing wheat from your order can be a little more difficult, especially if you’re a fan of their baked goods. Fortunately, there’s still plenty on the menu to enjoy if you’re sensitive or allergic to gluten. Read on to learn how to eat gluten-free at Dunkin Donuts, plus some tips to avoid cross-contamination. (PS: All Dunkins nutrition and allergen information is available online. Nutrition information below does not account for modifications.)

How to Order Gluten-Free at Shake Shack: Our Main Menu Recs From Fries to Burgers

Meet the expert

Dr. Felicia Stoler, DCN, is a dietitian, nutritionist and exercise physiologist. She is the author of Living Skinny in Fat Genes: The Healthy Way to Lose Weight and Feel Great and former TLC host Honey, they were killing the kids.

A word about gluten-free eating

If you think going gluten-free will help you lose weight or get healthy (whatever that means to you), consider this expert advice. Only people with celiac disease and gluten intolerances and sensitivities should go completely gluten-free. It’s not a weight-loss diet, says Stoler. Because ingredients and products made from common wheat are fortified by law with certain vitamins and minerals, there are nutrient deficiencies that can occur as a result of eating gluten-free: fiber, iron, folate, thiamin, niacin, and riboflavin … a big concern, because most people don’t consume enough each day.

Can people with celiac disease eat at Dunkin Donuts?

Dunkin’s Facebook page

Due to the risk of cross-contamination, Dunkin’s cannot guarantee that any item is completely gluten-free. They advise that any of their products may contain or be in contact with eggs, fish, nuts, shellfish, soy, nuts and wheat. So, if you have a severe allergy or sensitivity, it might be best to avoid it.

If you want to play it safe, here are some tips to avoid cross-contamination when visiting Dunkin’ (or any restaurant):

  • Tell the server about your allergy: They will take a lot into account when preparing your order if they know.

  • Ask servers to change gloves before serving food: Don’t be embarrassed that this request is an easy fix for gluten intolerant customers and those with celiac disease.

  • Ask for your food to be prepared on a clean surface with clean utensils: If you’re really worried about cross-contact, this recommendation from the Gluten Intolerance Group is a smart move. Health line he also suggests asking for your chosen ingredients to be drawn from new vats with clean utensils if possible.

Are Dunkin’ Donuts Gluten Free?

Unfortunately, none of the donuts are gluten-free, nor are the muffins, bagels, croissants, English muffins, wraps, or breakfast sandwiches. However, there are still two popular foods you can enjoy if you’re allergic to wheat (more on that later).

Read on for nine ways to order gluten-free at Dunkin’.

Coffee drinks

1. Hot or iced coffees and cold preparation


  • Nutritional information (regular, any size): 5 calories, 0 g fat, 0 g carbs, 0 g sugar, 0 g protein

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

Water and coffee that is. You can add any kind of milk if you like, as well as sweeteners. All Dunkins flavored syrups and swirls are wheat-free, so feel free to customize your joe. (ICYMI, flavor shots are unsweetened and sugar-free, while flavor swirls are thicker, richer, and contain sugar.)

2. Lattes and hot or iced Cappuccinos


  • Nutritional information (medium, hot and sugar-free milk with whole milk): 170 calories, 9g fat, 14g carbs, 13g sugar, 9g protein

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

Shots of espresso and your choice of milk come together for a smoother, smoother shot of your morning coffee. All Dunkin’ milks are technically gluten-free, but oat and almond milks may be processed in facilities that also process gluten-containing items, so you may want to avoid them if you’re very sensitive or allergic

3. Hot or iced Americanos


  • Nutritional information: 5-10 calories, 0g fat, 1-2g carbs, 0g sugar, 0g protein

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

Americanos are nothing but water and espresso, so they are naturally wheat-free. Ask your barista to leave room for the milk if you want the flavor to be less intense. (Natural espresso shots with no added water are also safe for gluten-free eaters.)

4. Hot or iced macchiatos


  • Nutritional information (medium hot with coconut milk): 40 calories, 3g fat, 3g carbs, 0g sugar, 0g protein

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

Dunkins take on a macchiato is like a latte, but instead of adding steamed (or cold) milk to the shots, the milk is added first and finished with an espresso. You don’t have to modify anything to make this creamy wheat-free drink.

Beverages without coffee

5. Hot or iced tea


  • Nutritional information (hot or iced, regular, any size): 5 calories, 0 g fat, 0 g carbs, 0 g sugar, 1 g protein

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

Tea is like coffee in the sense that it’s just tea and water. Spice up your hot or iced cup with a squeeze of lemon, a splash of flavor or a splash of milk, if you fancy.

Other gluten-free tea drinks: Matcha Latte (hot or iced), Chai Latte (hot or iced)

6. Hot chocolate


  • Nutritional information (average, original): 330 calories, 10g fat, 59g carbs, 46g sugar, 3g protein

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

Whether you get a kid-friendly decaf or spike it with espresso, Dunkins Hot Chocolate is as comforting as it is craveable. It’s made primarily with sugar, cream and cocoa powder, so it’s completely wheat-free.

7. Soft drinks


If you want a boost without drinking coffee, energizing sodas that get their caffeine from green tea are the way to go. And luckily, both varieties (Mango Pineapple and Strawberry Dragonfruit) are gluten-free. (By the way, if you prefer a frozen drink, Coolattas are also gluten-free in all flavors.)

Other gluten-free and coffee-free drinks: Frozen Coffee (any flavor), Coolatta (any flavor), Frozen Chocolate (any flavor), Frozen Matcha Latte, Sparkd Energy (any flavor)


8. Hash Browns


  • Nutritional information: 110 calories, 6g fat, 13g carbs, 1g sugar, 1g protein

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

These crunchy, lightly spiced potato bites are decidedly drool-worthy. Whether you dip them in ketchup, hot sauce, or nothing at all, they’re totally safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Go ahead, order two batches. Or three

9. Snackin Bacon


  • Nutritional information: 190 calories, 12g fat, 10g carbs, 10g protein, 9g sugar, 0g fiber

  • Make it gluten-free: no modifications required

You might not be able to enjoy a breakfast sandwich at Dunkin’ (well, not with bread, anyway), but you tin savor some crispy strips of bacon seasoned to your liking. That’s a plus, isn’t it?

How to Eat Gluten-Free at Chipotle: 7 Wheat-Free Menu Items Worth Devouring

#eat #gluten #free #Dunkin #Donuts #menu #items #love
Image Source :

Leave a Comment